Pancakes

pancakes 2

This one has taken some perfecting. I’ve tried many online vegan recipes as well as ones from cookbooks such as Deliciously Ella’s vegan pancakes. But none of them have been either tasty or quick. So after giving up on the help from other vegan cooks, I decided to make them up myself. I’ve heard that a good way of replacing eggs is with chia seeds and water as it swells. So that went into the mix. And I wanted it to rise nicely so it was fluffy rather than dense, so in went some baking powder. How to make it sugar free? My favourite thing: Bananas. So I added one of them into the batch, along with a random amount of wholegrain flour and some oat milk, and I had something that actually resembled the normal pancake mix I would make when I was younger. I cooked it for the same time as normal pancakes and it seemed to look, well, normal. My little random experiment worked! It was so yummy! After a few attempts over the last week or so I’ve really concocted the most perfect recipe and it’s very easy to put together, just mix a few things in a jug and fry in a pan for a few minutes! You’ll never look back at your pre-vegan diet in sadness again!

Makes approx. 5 pancakes

Ingredients

1 very ripe Banana, mashed

5 heaped tbsp Wholemeal flour

150ml Oat Milk (or any other plant milk)

1 tbsp Chia Seeds

1/4 tsp Baking Powder

A splash of sunflower oil (for in the pan)

 

Mix all of the ingredients (excluding oil) in a jug until it’s all combined and lump-free. Heat a splash of oil in a small pan on a high heat, then pour a palm sized dollop into the pan. Take off the heat while you tip the pan to spread the mix out evenly, just less than 1/2cm thick. Place back on a medium heat and cook for 3 minutes, until most of the top has set and the pancake can easily move around the pan. Flip it over and cook for another 3 minutes on the other side. Keep on a warmed plate while you repeat until you have no more mix left.

pancakes

 

One thought on “Pancakes

Leave a Reply

