Chocolate and Raisin Rye Bread

This really reminds me of Soreen Malt loaf. I wanted a cake but I haven’t quite mastered vegan cakes yet, so I thought for now it would probably be safer to make a sweet bread, one that would work perfectly as toast topped with bananas or nut butters. And it works beautifully! More than that, it’s even amazing on it own! It’s soft and a bit squidgy with a really tough and chewy crust, subtly sweet and chocolaty with yummy sticky raisins dotted throughout. I intentionally held back on the maple syrup when making this, because I knew I would be eating it with sweet toppings, so I didn’t need the extra sweetness from the bread as well. But if you really love sweet things this mixture can cope with another teaspoon or two more of syrup!

 

Ingredients

400g Wholemeal Rye Flour Mix (I used one with yeast, rye and malt already added, the brand is Rivercote). It’s essential to have yeast in this bread, or it won’t rise. Try adding 5g fast yeast if your flour doesn’t have it.

300ml lukewarm water

2 tbsp Raw Cacao Powder

1 tsp Cinnamon

1 tsp Maple Syrup

1 Handful Raisins

Honey to glaze

 

Mix all of the ingredients together in a large bowl (except the honey), combining a little water at a time until it all comes together. Knead the dough for around 5 minutes, then cover and leave in a warm area for 30 minutes. After this time, take the dough out of the bowl and knead gently for another minute, before transferring it into a greased loaf tin (I used a little coconut oil). Cover and leave to rise for another 45 minutes.

Pre-heat the oven to 220°c Conventional / 200°c Fan. Glaze the top of the dough with approx. 1/2 tsp honey and bake for 1 hour. Once baked, immediately transfer the loaf from the tin to a cooling rack.

I like to slice my bread and put it in the freezer so I’ve always got a fresh slice whenever I want one, never wasting it because it’s gone off before I’ve finished eating it.

IMG_3818

Leave a Reply

