Green Goddess Smoothie

IMG_3751

 

I have to say, it’s taken a while to convert to green smoothies, I’m not a super fan of drinking vegetables, I just don’t like the taste. Spinach is great of course, because you can sneak it into a fruity smoothy and not notice it’s there. But the other ingredients are slightly more prominent. Well, after plenty of trial and error, I’ve finally made one that tastes good! Like, really good! The mint and the cucumber make it really refreshing, kind of masking the fact that most of the drink is veggies! Spinach and Kale are a really high source of almost all the essential vitamins and minerals, and the heart-healthy fats in the avocado help your body absorb all of that goodness (A lot of nutrients are ‘fat-soluble’ meaning it should be eaten with some fat for your body to be able to digest the nutrients efficiently).

It’s time to drink your greens!

 

Makes 1 Glass

Ingredients

Handful of Spinach

Handful of Kale

1/2 Avocado

2cm Slice of Cucumber

1/4 Apple

Small Handful of Fresh Mint

Juice of 1/2 Lime

Splash of Coconut Milk

Top up with Coconut Water until the right thickness is achieved

Optional: 1tbsp of a Green Superfood Powder such as Wheatgrass, Spirulina, Chlorella etc

 

 

PutΒ all of the ingredients inΒ a blender and blitz until smooth. Add more coconut water if it needs watering down a little.

 

IMG_3754

3 thoughts on “Green Goddess Smoothie

  1. looks like you should be dipping chips in it….I still can’t get the green stuff over my lips…LOL I add spinach to most of my food…a handful of fresh greens at the end of an omelet or in my broth….I wrote down your recipe, I will try it….really sounds healthy…thanks…Happy Saturday…

    Like

Leave a Reply

