New Discoveries in August

I can’t believe August has gone by already, it only seems 2 weeks ago since it was June! This month has really been a learning curve when it comes to looking after my skin.

I’ve been aware for a long time that it’s what I eat that impacts my skin, I’ve been on a long journey from treating bad spots and dry, lifeless skin with what I eat. It’s taken some busting to find the cure, but I think it’s finally over! Since becoming vegan my skin really has been on the mend, clearing up and looking much softer and brighter. This was helped along by my new skin tonic (apple cider vinegar, tea tree, aloe vera and water) which I wash my face with twice a day, and then moisturise with almond oil. But going on holiday at the beginning of the month was a huge eye opener.

I went on a Mediterranean cruise, where it was pretty hard to eat vegan on an all-inclusive ship. So I gave in and ate ‘normally’ like I used to, although still making sure I get all my veggies. I have to say, I did miss my vegan goodies (porridge, superfoods like spinach and berries, nut butters, brown bread!), but I also really got into all the desserts. Gosh they were good! Lemon meringue pie, carrot cake, warm molten chocolate cake! I was in heaven. Until a few days into the holiday when my newly clear skin was again spattered with sore spots. Uh oh I thought. But did I stop? No chance. My skin was back to it’s old self, dry, lifeless and acne prone. Was this the lack of whole grain goodness and tons of vegetables? Or was it the sugar filled desserts I had multiple times a day? Put it this way, after a week home and eating normally again (vegan, refined-sugar free, and whole-grain rich diet) my skin was again clear, bright and smooth.

So that’s a lesson learned: the vegan way I’m eating right now really is doing wonders. Thank god for that.

One bonus though! The holiday introduced me to baked bananas, courgette carpaccio, and tofu! This basil tofu is so nice, I’ve never actually really liked tofu before this!

See you again for another instalment next month! – Lauren x

Villefranche, South of France
Villefranche, South of France
Me and my parents, a selfie on deck
Me and my parents, a selfie on deck
'The Lab' in Ibiza, an amazing vegan restaurant. I had wholegrain pizza with coconut sugar onions and tapenade, with a spinach and orange juice!
‘The Lab’ in Ibiza, an amazing vegan restaurant. I had wholegrain pizza with coconut sugar onions and tapenade, and a bowl of seaweed quinoa, with a spinach and orange juice!
Me and my Dad on deck
Me and my Dad on deck
Lemons in Spain
Lemons in Spain
One thought on “New Discoveries in August

Leave a Reply

