Coconut Tarts

I ADORE coconut, so naturally everything coconutty is the most divine thing to me. So, of course, these tarts were a wondrous vegan invention of mine. I honestly didn’t think they would work, most vegan recipes like this I have tried so far have been a complete disaster and gone straight to my chicken’s food dish! So when I daringly chose to follow no recipe at all, chucked a few ingredients into a bowl until it ‘looked about right’ and popped it in the oven for an estimated time, you can understand my surprise when they came out the perfect taste and texture, virtually just as I wanted them! I can’t imagine that happens first time round very often when baking.

I love this pastry, because it’s not just for these coconut tarts, I can make all sorts of things with it now I’ve invented it! I’m sure you’ll be seeing various different tart flavours and maybe even pies soon! And it’s actually really easy to make it too, particularly when my mum reminded me that pastry can be rolled out and then placed into the tray, rather than piecing it together bit by bit in each mould like play-doe…

Makes 6 small tarts

Ingredients 

IMG_3644
The pastry cases before adding the filling

For the pastry:

8 Handfuls oats (milled- do this in a blender, I use the nutribullet)

2 Heaped tsp nut butter, almond or cashew

2 Handfuls Chia Seeds

2 Handfuls linseeds (milled)

150ml Water

 

For the filling:

6 Handfuls desiccated coconut

3 tsp Maple syrup

2 tsp Coconut Oil (If you don’t have any, substitute more maple syrup, but it will be sweeter)

1/4 tsp jam in each case, any flavour but I like raspberry (I buy these jams made with no refined sugar)

 

Take a small blob of mixture and roll into a ball, before evenly rolling out flat to fit into the hole
Take a small blob of mixture and roll into a ball, before evenly rolling out flat to fit into the mould

Pre-heat the oven to 180° fan, then mix all the pastry ingredients together in a bowl, adding the water 1/3 at a time, until all the ingredients combine without being sticky. Choose any baking tray depending on how big you want each tart, it should cook the same whatever the size. My moulds are about 6cm wide and 4cm deep and my recipe made 6 tarts. Take a small blob of mixture and roll it into a tight ball in your hands, then roll into a circle just less than 1cm thick. Place in the mould and shape accordingly. Repeat until all the pastry is used. Now put your tray into the oven and bake the cases for about 15 minutes.

While the cases bake, prepare your filling. Mix the desiccated coconut, maple syrup and coconut oil in a bowl until all the ingredients are combined and the coconut starts to stick together. When the cases are ready, smooth a small amount of jam in the bottom of each case and then add about 2 heaped teaspoons of coconut on top, pressing down gently with the spoon. Fill them up as much as you can if you have left-over filling. Put the tray back into the oven for another 10 minutes.

When the coconut is golden brown, lift the tray out of the oven and gently take each tart out of the mould and let it cool on a baking tray. You can eat these hot or cold, they will keep in an airtight container for a few days, but they are best eaten on-the-day or the next as the pastry goes really hard after a day or two.

IMG_3654

 

 

One thought on “Coconut Tarts

Leave a Reply

